Draw for the 2017 IWBF Afro World Championship Qualifiers in Durban concluded

Pools Drawn for the 2017 IWBF Afro World Championship Qualifiers in Durban

The IWBF Afro World Championship Qualifiers Draw took place at Wheelchair Basketball SA Headquarters, the Vodacom Mandeville Indoor Sports Center recently. Witnessed by Print and Radio media, Soweto TV, Broadcast Giant SuperSport as well as syndicated TV by David Van der Sandt. IWBF Executive Board Member Mr. Craig Moorgas and Auditing Company Valentine Sargent verified the draw on the 14 October 2017.

The opening games will take place on the 18 November 2017 at the Tongaat Indoor Sports Centre, City of Durban, Kwazulu Natal with the South African Men taking on Morocco in the first game of the tournament, whilst the ladies will take on their neighbors Zimbabwe.

The men’s competition, will consist of 8 countries, playing in two pools, whilst the women’s competition will consist of 5 countries, playing in a round robin format. Countries competing for the one spot to represent the African Zone at the World Cup in Germany Hamburg next year, are;  Algeria, Angola, Egypt, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

The African Qualifiers #AWQ2017 Finals are on the 24 November with history been made with the launch of the first 3×3 ActionBall Knockout Continental Challenge taking place on the 25 November .

Men’s Pool A: South Africa, Morocco, Angola, Zimbabwe

Men’s Pool B: Algeria, Egypt, Nigeria, Kenya

Women’s Pool: South Africa, Algeria, Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Kenya